Ahmad

By Ahmad

Flowers in January

So one of my mother's friends came over yesterday and she gave us a lovely pot of flowers (the kinds you can hang). There are two bunches of yellow flowers, one cluster of white, a group of magenta coloured ones and the rest is pink. While I know that flowers aren't the subject of the second day, they are later on and since you don't get flowers in January, I decided to jump on this opportunity before the flowers began to wilt.

Back when I was still 12 or 13 when I only had a point-and-shoot and was still figuring out how to use manual mode effectively, flowers were my main subject of my photos. Since then. I've stayed well away from flowers... until now.

Unfortunately, it took me most of the evening to write this essay (punctuated with many, many tea breaks, naturally) so I had only around 15 minutes to take photos. It was still quite nice to have the flowers though - the weather has been very harsh lately so a lovely burst of colour to brighten up the winter is great.

For this photo, I dipped my hand in water and shook it over the flowers, before placing some black card behind the pot. I didn't edit this image.

I plan on having a proper photo shoot tomorrow. Should be fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.