A Day At A Time.

By ElCid

Day 44: Ocean's Eight

If I have my calculations correct, today is entry 2920, which marks eight years of continuous images, although my first photograph was uploaded on 30 April 2012. Blip does not take into account leap years.

These past six weeks have been rather a challenge for one whose favourite genre is landscapes, but it has been interesting to be forced to try different things. With very mixed results!

But this journal has never been about stars, hearts and the popular pages. Which is just as well! I know some crave the attention and accolades and that is fine. For me, it is only about life's journey.

I shall be able (I hope) to look back over these last few weeks and remember the severity of the lockdown and how having had one's freedom effectively taken away (I cannot count going to the supermarket as being free!) was like.

I am grateful that the Spanish government has been so severe in the restrictions imposed on us. For one whose immune system is suppressed anyway and who has a history of bronchial pneumonia when younger, I consider some of what is allowed elsewhere to be verging on the irresponsible.

But we shall see. It is hoped that some of us may be allowed out for a little exercise in a week's time, depending on how this week pans out. But when we see families spending yesterday on the beach because "children under 14 are now allowed to take an hour's exercise with their parents near their homes", I wonder.

Apart from these extraordinary times we are living through, heartfelt thanks to those faithful few who keep having a look at what is happening here in my little part of not-so-sunny Spain, and to those who drop in for the first time and sometimes see something they like.

Don't forget, my images are not meant to represent anybody's version of reality but mine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.