The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Second Chances

I took a similar shot the other day. I liked the resulting image a great deal but it fell victim to the one day/one blip rule as I chose another image for my journal. I mean, I don't make the rules, right? Still, I kept wondering if I hadn't made a mistake. The blue color of the glass is striking. It stands out in marked contrast to the clear crystal of the other glassware on the shelf. It makes a statement of sorts. It strikes a chord with the independent soul and free thinker I claim to be.

Yeah, I made a mistake and worse yet, I think I hurt the little blue guys feelings.

So today I decided he deserved a second chance and Niki (I name my stuff, Niki is what I've decided to call my new camera) and I returned to the china cabinet to see if the magic was still there. I think it is but you can be the judge.

(Alert, this is the part where the old guy gets serious and a bit maudlin, and no I haven't been drinking.)

I've been thinking a lot about second chances lately, probably the real reason for this entry. My own second chance was a liver transplant last summer and, though I know there are no guarantees, I intend to do things differently this time around. I found a quote that pretty much sums it up.

"Though no one can go back and make a brand new start, anyone can start from now and make a brand new ending." Carl Bard

Yeah, what he said .... and the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.