Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

The cat in the hat!!!

It's at times like this that I realise just how little Cleo is. She looks like a kitten still, but she will be 8 this winter. She's very petite and weighs almost exactly 3kg.
Here she is sitting in Colin's cap.... Of course she is, where else would a discriminating cat sit, just ask Dr Seuss!

Monday again today and the start of another week. I was delighted by the warm weather which had not been forecast. I decided to plant some radish seeds and came up with a planter I was very pleased with. I had a couple of old plastic mushroom baskets, so I lined the sides of one with polythene from a delivery last week. That made sure that the compost didn't fall out through the sides. I filled it with well watered compost and sowed the seeds. I covered the planter with more of the same plastic to make a nice warm environment for germination.
I also made some cardboard tubes from an Amazon box and planted out another batch of sweet pea seeds. More of the plastic was used to cover them, but I've kept them inside for just now. I need to pinch out the tops of the last set, I'm looking forward to getting my cold frame all at up. It's on its way.
I lay on my lounger on the garden for a while and enjoyed the sun, it was almost too hot at times - hard to believe I was in temperatures 20° higher in India just 6 weeks ago.

I'm a bit concerned that part of our lawn is dead beyond recovery and it's just where we like to sit so Colin scarified it and then I put the sprinkler onto it to try to soften the earth up there. I've phoned somebody who does the occasional bit of garden work for us and he's going to bring and lay a couple of rolls of turf which will hopefully rejuvenate things.

Made a rhubarb sponge for pudding today but didn't eat it in the end. Now we've got it to look forward to tomorrow along with a lasagne.

Colin and some friends set up an online bridge game this evening while I went for a walk, they still hadn't managed to get going by the time I got back 2 miles later!! It's all a bit deja vu playing bridge with the same people we were playing with more than 45 years ago in St Andrews. Some of us are better than others.

Keep well and healthy everybody, a glimmer of the light at the end of the tunnel is almost visible I think. We can do this and we are doing it, just keep staying safe and staying at home. Thank goodness we live in Scotland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.