pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

NH-YES

Today more than most has been a day of two halves.

Up until around lunchtime, I was feeling a little blue. Trying to shake it off and with a couple of menial tasks to attend to, I thought I would have a wander into town. Unfortunately, the auld grey town was exceptionally so, backlit by grey skies, quiet and only a few people trudging about. Not exactly full of inspiration to lift a flagging soul.

In between tasks, I paused briefly on the street at 11am to take a moment to acknowledge those NHS workers who have lost their lives whilst trying to help other continue theirs, but I couldn’t stop too long for fear of not getting going again. My mind wandered to their families and how they must be feeling right now, but then I decided that I didn’t want to know and hopefully never will. Whilst a £60k pay-out is in some ways a generous gesture, but in the grand scheme of things I’m sure it will provide scant compensation for the heartbreak and pain being endured.

The NHS has been so good to various members of my family over the years and at this horrible time it is impossible to feel anything but respect and utmost pride for those people at the sharp end. They go to work and are putting their lives, their lives on the line as part of their job. Just think about that for a moment. How many people who can say that in peace time?

Acknowledgement completed and sadness levels at new lows, I finished my tasks (cheering myself up momentarily by picking up some toys for my children) and headed for home. Swapping messages, a friend sent me a very funny video, a proper rib-tickler, which as it turned out, proved to be the catalyst for a much better afternoon. I pulled myself together, had a decent lunch, insulted a couple of colleagues then got my head down and promptly lost a few hours to conference calls and emails.

Somewhere in amongst this I reminded myself that I should be feeling grateful to be in good health, that I am in a position to crack on from the confines of my comfortable home. I should also be grateful for the fact that should I fall very ill, there are certain people out there who don’t know me, have never met me, have no vested interest in me, but will do all they can to help me despite the inherent risk to themselves.

The NHS is a wonder, staffed by the best of us and the concept of protecting it should be held in perpetuity.  

Stay healthy.


Oh, and the photo? This is the view of the walk back from town to my home. I like the juxtaposition of the smooth lines of the river against the blocky, Minecraft-like construction of the building.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.