Flag of Nova Scotia

I saw this flag when I drove by several days ago, but there was no safe place to pull over. I walked by today. It's a tribute to the 22 people killed just over a week ago. The gunman was shot by police, bringing the death toll to 23. A terrible tragedy. There is also a hockey stick under the flag (so Canadian) and a small bunch of flowers on the tree truck as well. The three can be seen in the first extra. I had a few tears and stood in silence for a few minutes before taking the photos. I've heard this song by the Rankin Family from Nova Scotia a few times in the past few days and cry every time.
Now there's major flooding in Fort McMurray, the town that was devastated by a wild fire in 2016, and thousands of people have been evacuated. The photos from the flooding are incredible.
Is COVID-19 not enough for people to endure? 
On a more positive note, I had a lovely walk on this cloudy, cool day. G had to go to town for a routine blood test. As I was walking, I heard a vehicle slowing down behind me. Turned my head and heard G say, "Step it up, old woman!" I'll give him an old woman! I walk far faster on my solitary walks than when he's tagging along, slowing me down. I did laugh though. When I got home, I pottered in the garden for a little while then spent a couple of hours doing some mending that I've been meaning to get to. An enjoyable day. I made a curry yesterday for tonight's supper because it always tastes better on the 2nd day, so I'm looking forward to that and a relaxing evening.
Other 2 extras: looks like there might be some nest building going on in that little birdhouse, with a couple of twigs sticking out of it; Ferry at Fulford 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.