Lost and Found

This morning I was looking for my 'squishy ball', a Pilates prop that I had out just a few days ago but seems to have vanished, along with my watch, which I took off six weeks ago because I didn't want to take it off every time I washed my hands. John suggested going through the house room by room 'looking for lost stuff'. I told him he must be desperate for something to do. He agreed that it was a desperation suggestion with absolutely no ambition behind it, but he allowed as how he might sort through the garage, maybe he'd find those solar lights. 
'What solar lights?', I asked. 
'The ones we bought last year when the power was off for a week', he said.

It's hard to get my mind around the fact that it happened at all, much less that it will probably happen again. Despite all our efforts to get a backup battery for our solar system it is now stalled and lost in the mists of last year's crisis. The battery was ordered and the permit applied for when the county offices closed down. Currently, the only county bureaucracy still functioning is the public health department.

Three years ago, when the town almost burned down and we had to evacuate for two weeks, our new front door was lost in shipping when it couldn't be delivered. The manufacturers (Pinky's Iron Doors in Los Angeles. Love that name...) eventually tracked it down. It's pretty hard to lose a 500 pound metal and glass door for too long....

Now we've moved from fire to pestilence, and as I wandered randomly around the house looking aimlessly for a basketball sized yellow ball I happened upon this unused drawer of my desk. 
'What's in here?' I wondered.
I have shown only a small portion of the cords, ear buds, plugs and even a tiny remote control, some still in their original, cunningly designed packaging. 

Upon further investigation, I discovered that not a single one of those cords, plugs or controls worked with any device I still have in my possession. It's anybody's guess which devices they may once have worked with since they bear no identifying markings....that might mar their seamless and no doubt expensive design....

Now what am I supposed to do with them?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.