The Roses are Blooming

Today's activities:

Made the bed...it is total habit. I practically do it as I crawl out of it, and even find myself doing it in hotels...well, back in the days when hotels were an option.

Set up the computer for Zoom Pilates. It's difficult to know where to put it in order to maximize the amount of your body that can be seen by the teacher whether you are standing up or lying on the floor. The fact that John and I do it together on Monday mornings makes for some interesting choreography.

Carried the computer from the office to the dining table for Zoom 'coffee', where we chatted about everything from changing hairstyles (and colors!) due to home hairdressing, The Dead Sea Scrolls, Larry's dog, Sadie, and the difficulty of getting seeds. SoilMan orders his seeds from a place in Oregon and generally gets them in three or four days. This time it took almost  a month because the seed company was so overwhelmed with orders.

We all seem to be living in a world of odd juxtapositions of technology (Zoom) and survivalism... planting food gardens from seeds, hoarding groceries and toilet paper. I think I, or at least my computer, is headed for a collision of the two, since it's 'ancient'* and the battery only lasts for a couple of hours before I have to plug it in.

The headline in the newspaper said that an effort is being made to keep the Toddler-in-Chief from giving daily briefings 
because he says so many stupid things that even his supporters enablers are beginning to question his ability to lead the government. I, of course, have been thinking since the beginning that practically everything he did would be the thing that did him in. Yet so far he has survived investigations into his treatment of women, his shady business deals, his strange relationships with Putin and Kim Jong Un. He was not even removed from office after he was impeached by the House of Representatives for using his influence as president to dig up dirt on his opponent, Joe Biden.  Who would ever believe that the thing that just might do in his chances of re-election is his suggestion that perhaps drinking or injecting bleach might be the miracle cure for the Covid19 virus? You just couldn't make it up.

I went for a walk...did the entire 'Wildwood Loop' which is all of about 2500 steps, did a little laundry and made a delicious lunch from homemade bread from Jim, avocado, thinly sliced red onion and a boiled egg from one of Kathy's chickens. We certainly are eating well. Another collision course there between comfort eating and inability to exercise....

After that, since I can't read anything that isn't about Coronavirus or the aforementioned person, I worked on what I am coming to call my 'covid quilt'. I put a picture of the squares I have finished in extras. 

As we begin our sixth week of isolation, I hope all of you are staying healthy and sane.

*'Ancient' in computer time being 10 years old.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.