In Search of the Green Woodpecker

The morning was taken up with my recorder lesson and waiting in for a delivery.  My lesson went okay but I am learning O Sole Mio and my teacher keeps reminding me to play the notes (in the right order!) when I have 'Just One Cornetto' in my head!  It is easier to learn something I don't already know.  The piece also has triplets and grace notes which my stiff fingers struggle with!  Must practise more!

After lunch I decided to lengthen my daily walk as the rain had set in and I guessed that would impact on the number of folks out and about.  I went in search of the little owl and the green woodpecker, spotted by neighbours and local blippers.  Sadly all the wildlife, apart from a single robin, had decided to do the sensible thing and batten down out of the weather.  I walked off piste to see if I could spot any deer, but no it wasn't to be.  I was right about the people though, just one dog walker in the distance in four miles.

This is an oft blipped lane in the estate and one of my favourite due to the stately trees.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.