I slept badly last night.  I think this was partly because I was imagining the horsetail in the alley next to me growing to 3 or 4 foot high, that I wouldn't be able to dose it with weedkiller because it would be too dangerous for passersby... blah, blah.

This morning I went to B&Q as I needed white spirit so I can carry on painting, but got various other things while I was there, including a rather nice pair of door handles for my wardrobe. 

After lunch I walked to Tesco (seeing as I hadn't done a walk this morning) and found one of my Ramblers group lurking in the aisles, so we had a chat. Rather surprisingly he'd managed to get his hair cut - usually his mop is rather BJ'ish!

In the photo I'm almost home, and it shows the horsetail lining the side of the alley, from halfway along the folks at the back of me's fence to halfway along mine. But most importantly it's not very tall so an adult's hand wouldn't reach it and children are very unlikely to be walking down there late evening. 

My plan is to first bruise the stalks and then to spray with weedkiller (it has to be glyphosate) when the weather is next dry. I'll probably have to do this several times.

I'm not 100% sure that it's okay to spray weedkiller in a public right of way that doesn't belong to me, what do you think?

I could begin by spraying the horsetail on my side of the fence, which is fortunately sandwiched but not trapped, not with those roots, between the fence and the garage. But obviously it would be better to treat the horsetail in the alley as well. The jury is out.

DIY: washed down sanded woodwork in little bedroom/varnished gear cupboard door/new handles to my wardrobe door/key hooks inside kitchen cupboard 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.