Life Savors

By osuzanna

Savannah Sparrow

I don't think I have ever captured a shot of one of these before, and anyway it was the prettiest shot of the day.  I went early to Hughes Hollow and my husband came along to run.  After today we are expecting rain for several days so we wanted to make the most of it.

It was delightful.  I saw a green heron and a prothonotary Warbler and a red-shouldered hawk soaring overhead, (all rubbish shots because I was too far away). There were lots of snakes sunning on logs in the water.  The little Phoebe from last week was busy sitting in her nest and I saw a female red-winged blackbird making a huge racket as she moved from branch to branch with some wetland linguine in her mouth. A Blue-Gray Gnatcatcher landed right in front of me allowing me to get a few shots off before it flew away. I have not been posting extras so I have included all of them there. 

The day started very early with our grocery delivery at 7 a.m.  I opted for an earlier time slot hoping that with overnight restocking, we might get more of our order.  We did get a lot but there were still a number of things we did not get.  There's always next week. I am learning to get creative with dinner and recipes. The unpacking and wiping down took almost an hour. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.