Gobsmacked?

In point of fact, my gob has never been quite so smacked!
The Government, having heard I'm "vulnerable", decided I merited a food parcel weekly.  With what I already had in I think I may start a "Canned Goods" Shop.
(N.B. there are TWO Ls in the word, NOT Vunerable!) 
Anyway - in the first delivery came a loaf of white Bread, which we never used.  As I'd just bought a "Seeded Batch" I gave it to the lass next door. Since then I've had two more.  I mentioned the fact to Clicky who said:-

"Oh, it'll keep 'till March"
"MARCH!  It's April now."
"NO, I mean next March."
She was right too.
I wonder who's responsible for the wee hole; can't see any tooth marks on the loaf.

I checked the E numbers out of curiosity.
E282 - Calcium Propionate. Preservative.
E300 - Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C). Antioxidant.
E471 - Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids (Emulsifiers, stabilisers, thickeners and gelling agents)
E472e - WHAT a gobfull "Mono- and diacetyltartaric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids" Same family as 471.
I wonder which is rendering it immortal? A sprinkling of Calcium Propionate? MUST be "good"/powerful stuff.

The next delivery - another white loaf telling me it had been frozen; I grant it was slightly cooler than ambient temp; but certainly a LONG way from frozen; and it I have to consume within two days of purchase. With Alice, we'd not see off a full loaf in two days, possibly a week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.