Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

On squirrel watch

Last night our camera group had an excellent Zoom presentation from John Gravett. We were all virtually transported to the beautiful Lake District and learnt about composition. It does help when you are in lockdown and seeing the same sights every day to be reminded of another beautiful world out there.

Today it is another day of some sunshine but mostly rain. I managed to have a dry walk with Xena but the paths are already muddy from the little bit of rain that we have had. The bluebells are nearly finished here, and the blossom has already gone, so I came home and took a photo of Xena who was on squirrel watch from her favourite chair looking out the window. 

I then went to get some groceries. As it is the only outing we have where I get in to the car and drive somewhere I actually am now enjoying going out to do the shopping! 

I will be watching the daily briefing from Westminster as Boris is presenting it today for the first time in a few weeks, ever since he was taken ill. Despite him and his fiance having a baby on Wednesday he is at work and not taking any paternity leave now. I never realised she was having her baby now, the reports always said 'in the summer' so I cannot imagine how frightened they were when he got ill with Covid-19 as she was in the late stages of her pregnancy. Everyone is hoping he will announce when the lockdown will be lifted, but we some way off that, I think this current phase of lockdown will go on for a while yet.

Tonight more Zoom meetings - at 6pm I have booked to listen to a Royal Photography Society talk by the internationally renowned landscape photographer Joe Cornish. I am hoping it will finish in time for me to have supper before I will be dialing in again for our book club meeting just after 8pm, after we have clapped for the NHS and carers. It's a new way of life, isn't it? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.