A day in the life

By Shelling

Valborg

Last day of April or, Last of April, as today is called, is a big day for celebrating that a new cycle has begun. The calendar celebrates the name Valborg, hence the title of the Blip. I wrote about it last year, You can read more here.

This year is different, as we all know. There was a bonfire and professional singing on TV, as a weak substitute for standing outside in the biting wind and rain, listening to a small choir who's voices disappear in the noise from the fire and wind. Still -I do it almost every year, it's a tradition and it makes me feel like I belong here.

On my walk in the forest I came across two rather large ash heaps, former forest debris, that some farmer set fire to. One heap was still smoking faintly and both heaps were still warm so it's happened during the day. The blip will represent the event, I got to see a post fire. I was also invited for a meal to one of my neighbours where I met some people I haven't seen before. Nice evening but a little tense, since everyone was careful about not spreading diseases around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.