A day in the life

By Shelling

Inner peace

After I met my student for a guitar lesson this morning I went to Kalmar to buy a book. Well, also because it was a long time since I was in town and also because I was hungry and didn't want to cook today but mainly because I really wanted the book and it was the last copy. The book I was after is a book about historic Öland, where I live. I'm interested in stories about how people made their living in the old days, kings and other men with power has claimed to "own" parts of the island but I know far too little about it. Now I have a book on the subject (it seems to be the only one written) I hope I can learn i bit more about the place I live. 

The book was sold in the bookshop of Kalmar museum, where I also had my lunch in an old, beautiful building, facing the harbour. After lunch I went for a walk before going home. Even though the sun was shining today, the wind is icy cold so it's nice in a city where you can get some shelter from the buildings. I walked along the streets of old Kalmar, mostly big houses from the mid 1600ds. A big gate was open into the inner yard and I couldn't help but take a picture of the lovely yard. I bet there is shelter from the winds and the world outside the gate in there.

After a hot cup of chocolate with a taste of mint (mmmm.) in a shop/factory/café where they make and sell their own chocolate, I went home, fed, full, feeling fabulous and with a new book to read.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.