The Word

Andrew Wood is a local artist to Stroud who started an art project called ‘The Word’. It’s been going for a few years and the word changes pretty frequently, maybe once every couple of weeks or so. In 2018 he put the word ‘Scrotum’ up which drew some complaints and he received a visit from the police that was featured in the local press. A poll run by the local paper suggested around 85% of people who voted in found the word to be inoffensive in this context. At least it got people talking. Often the words have some link to the news or recent events. I rather love the idea.

I’ve not been to town for ages and ages but decided to do a big shop as my fridge was getting rather empty. When I arrived it was raining so the queue outside Waitrose was nice and short. I bobbed up to the health food shop, in town, to get some quality flour, vegan chilli and salad dressing (made by one of my favourite pub landlords who’s pub is located next door to the shop). Sadly the dressing had sold out so I bought 2 large macaroon biscuits (yummy as freshly made), a huge bag of toasted coconut flakes and a decent bag of almond flakes to make up for it - I can see a lot of biscuits being made over the next couple of months!
I counted the walk to the health food shop and back as my daily walk as the weather felt very unpredictable so I grabbed the chance.

I like the choice of the word ‘Heal’ for the artwork this week. I think we need to heal on a lot of different levels.

I had a zoom yoga session tonight and the yoga teacher was telling us that this time at home should help us consider not just what we are doing with our lives and why we are doing it! Wise words.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.