Maximus

A beautiful day.  I had the afternoon shift so we could have a very pleasant and not rushed breakfast.  Work was very busy which was perfectly fine.  Max and I spent some more time in the yard.  I also did a zoom with an author I like who creates graphic comic book like books about New York.  Nora sent me his latest book, The Dairy Restaurant.  His name is Ben Katchor.  The zoom was organized by a Yiddish organization that is creating many events.  There were about 200 people on the zoom.  I had never seen him before.  He was so delightful and took many questions.  It was only an hour, but seemed much shorter.  He was ready to answer many more questions and was as disappointed as we were that it was over so fast.  The book is about the dairy restaurants that used to be all over New York City from the 1890s to the 1980s and discusses the origins of having dairy but no meat in some restaurants and meat but no dairy in others.  I remember  going to a restaurant that served meat and no dairy and therefore had no cream for my coffee.  I have not finished the book but it is a fun history of dietary laws going way back in time ending with descriptions of the restaurants I remember in New York.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.