Looking for the beauty

By looking4beauty

Day 41 Happy 100th Captain Tom

Today was brighter and a bit warmer. There were a couple of heavy showers during the day but the weather app predicted these perfectly so I avoided soggy washing. I worked from home this morning and popped into work in the afternoon to phone some more parents to check that they were all ok. We went for a walk over the fields at the back when Chris got home and spotted this beautiful rainbow on the way home before those black clouds deposited their contents on Shrewsbury. When we got home, I started tea and popped onto the doorstep at 8 for the weekly clap for key workers. It really is a lovely time to say hello to friends and neighbours who you don't usually see. I finished my book today: Sisters of Auschwitz. I struggled to get into this one and found it more like a history book at the start, full of facts and figures, which I suppose in some ways a book like this, recounting a true story of the Nazi atrocities, is. The latter part was better. I won't say easier because of the subject matter and there were things that I learnt about the concentration camps that weren't in any of the other books that I've read on the subject. I cannot believe that humans would ever treat other humans in that manner.
In the news Boris gave his first press conference since returning and confirmed that we are past the peak but we need to take care not to have a second peak as this would damage the economy further. Already lots of companies are announcing that they are cutting jobs, especially airlines. BA cut 12,000 earlier this week. Many others are going into administration. The sooner we come out of lockdown, the better for the economy. Boris is going to announce an exit plan next week.
So far there have been 26,771 official deaths in the UK and today's figure was 674.
Captain Tom celebrated his 100th birthday today. Amongst other things, the Queen made him an honorary colonel, he had a birthday fly past and his fundraising exceeded £32 million. What an amazing achievement. Happy birthday Tom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.