If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Cowslip (Primula veris)

As our garden flood at times various plants pop up as if from nowhere.  There is little or no habitation/gardens upstream from us, as a result the plants that appear tend to be wild plants.  One of the best are the couple of native orchids which have appeared.  It is possible they came with plants from Kanyl's as he has had orchids appear as well.

These appear to be Cowslips, so I am assuming they are "flood victims".  In the area I grew up Cowslips were fairly uncommon.  Now I see (well not this year) swathes of them particularly on motorway and dual carriageway verges.  I don't know if it is because the conditions are particularly suitable or they have been sown.  Either way I think the draught from vehicles would help the dispersal. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.