Sumer is Icumen In

Every 1 May, at least since 1509 when Magdalen Tower was completed, the prospect of summer has been celebrated in Oxford with music. Since the mid 19th century the festivities for May Morning have comprised bleary, early-risen townsfolk and dishevelled students who have been drinking all night at May Balls, congregating just before 6am below Magdalen Tower in the High Street. At 6am the tower bells ring, a hush falls and Magdalen choristers sing from the top of the tower: the 17th century Hymnus Eucharisticus then, after a prayer, a secular song. Afterwards there is revelry in the streets: bands, Morris dancers and raised glasses from the nearby pubs, all granted an early morning license for the occasion. 

Not even a global pandemic could break that tradition. Over the last few weeks 28 choristers recorded themselves at home and their voices were assembled into the first ever Virtual May Morning.

Horns of Plenty, Oxford's beloved street band, and the City Council invited everyone in Oxford to make music in their own streets at the slightly more civilised hour of 8am. At our clap-plus-music for front line workers yesterday evening we had a bit of a consultation and our street made it very clear that 8am was not remotely civilised. Instead, G from the across the road and I took ourselves off to the sports field at 8am, to practise the three pieces we wanted to play together. We invited anyone who wanted to hear us to assemble in the street at 5pm or, if was raining, whenever the rain stopped. During the day, G WhatsApped me to say that we really had to add Sumer is Icumen In to our repertoire. So we rehearsed it separately and performed it together for the first time ever as the opening to our May Day celebrations. We managed two more pieces before the rain started then played our fourth piece from physically distanced (social distancing be damned) adjacent porches. At least we missed the afternoon's hail.

G is a better player than I am but neither of us is very good. But someone had the kindness to say, 'You make me wish I could play an instrument.' Well, yes. I am so, so glad that I learned when I was a child.

As I can't take photos when I'm playing, you have my apple orchard nursery instead. I potted another 20 or so suckers this afternoon and there are more in that yellow bucket waiting for me to acquire more pots. If I were in charge of the May morning prayer, it would be a plea for at least one of my apple trees to thrive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.