I do not take pictures of flowers

12 of my last 13 pictures have been of flowers, or at least plants, though some had the saving grace of existing in only two dimensions. Lockdown is changing my brain. I will try to reclaim it.

I have been watching the National Theatre's fantastic offering of a play a week on YouTube. This week is the 2011 production of Frankenstein. My daughter saw it at the time and raved about it but it sold out and I never got there. Benedict Cumberbatch and Jonny Lee Miller alternated the roles of Frankenstein and The Creature each evening and the NT is showing both versions. Last night I watched one and this evening I watched the other. Of course I have seen the same role played by different people in different productions with different directors, but I have never before seen a play in which the director and rest of cast stay the same, but the leading roles are played by different people. A real insight into why casting is so important. 

Tomorrow I am going to put two screens side by side and watch both versions at once. 

A friend recently told me she wouldn't be watching the NT play of the week because she'd already seen one play that week and that was enough. It took me a moment or two to take in what she'd said. I could live in the theatre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.