Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Magical ...

Whew. Things felt better today ... It began with the sun, returning to shine in my eyes where I hadn't pulled the curtain sufficiently far along. (I can't bear to go to bed with the curtains completely shut; I love seeing the lights on the other side of the Firth, and sometimes from a passing ship, and I don't like shutting out all the fresh air from the open window). There was a great bank of fog on the far side of the water, rolling over to Cowal to the north of us and creeping into the Holy Loch. The ferries were off - the wee ferries that is. Maybe they need to see where they're going ... We resolved that we'd go out in the morning, because the weather app told us there was going to be rain in the afternoon; I got two lots of washing out and put the bread in the oven before coffee. 

Things were slightly derailed at this point by a badly-timed phone call to Nespresso for advice about the sudden malfunction of our all-important espresso machine; instead of a brief instruction Mr PB was treated to a step-by-step reset and cleaning of the machine and we were much later going out than we intended. The rain began when we were just far enough along the road to make it tedious to return, and by the time we got home again we were literally soaked to the skin. (No waterproofs. Fools.)

The sun came out again when the rain was supposed to start. But we'd walked so fast earlier we didn't feel like going out again, so we recorded hymns for Sunday and I did some hoeing of the most blatant flowerbed. I also enjoyed a totally hilarious FaceTime with my oldest grandchild; she's been working on an essay and wanted my opinion. It interested me that she's totally enjoying the Lockdown restrictions - loving not having to go out in the morning, loving deciding her own timetable. Missing her friends, of course, but then there's WhatsApp ...

I've started re-watching Wolf Hall on BBC catchup - having ordered the third book in the series, it seems like a good idea to re-enter the world of Thomas Cromwell. Such good acting! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.