Day Thirty-eight, Coffee is an essential

Despite an increase in the number of admissions, we have gone into the weekend with beds available. That means that if I am called it is likely that it will be for advice on the use of the Mental Health Act, not for bed finding. 

Mid morning, I headed to the local supermarket where my age allows me to be the next person in, rather than joining the long queue. It was shorter today, than a week ago. They had baking powder for the first time since flour and baking powder were stripped from the shelves in the first days of lockdown. Flour only returned last week.

I left the groceries with S to wipe over (as we are advised to do), and went for a walk. A different course from where I have recently gone. At one point I was on New North Road, and I saw a sign near the footpath which appeared to be indicating some City Council activity in a building set back. 

That appeared to be confirmed when I saw a "coat of arms" on the wall by a door. And then I looked closer. A rather unusual design. The central column has the names of the three roasts that Raglan Roast sell; Brown Lightning, Daganic, and Mocha JaVa. Originating in Raglan, this would appear to be their Auckland offices, perhaps even a roasting house. More likely a distribution centre.

I drank some when we stayed in Raglan at the start of January this year, and bought a bag of Brown Lightning beans as we were leaving. Very nice coffee, it was.

The extra is what greeted me when I looked outside this morning, just after sunrise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.