Lentils

Puy Lentils to be precise. 

When we first thought we might be locked down and we were sorting cupboards to see what we had, I knew we would be okay for lentils, as I bring packs of these from France. Some I give away and some are stored. I love cooking them as they are easy to cook, keep their shape and have a slight peppery taste. We eat them with sausages and . . . well anything. But mostly we like them with duck legs. I usually roast the duck legs for a long time in the oven, but an alternative, as we are having tonight, is M&S Slow Roast Duck Legs with Orange and Port Sauce

I cook them earlier in the day in water with a carrot, stick of celery, half onion, bouquet-garni - about half an hour. Drain and fish out the vegetables.
20 minutes before serving - fry pancetta cubes until crisp, add carrot, celery and onion, all cut into tiny, tiny pieces (you don't need much). Fry for a few minutes and then add the lentils and a glass of white wine. Cover and cook for 15 minutes or so. Delicious and nutritious too.

Puy Lentils
Grown in the region of Le Puy-en-Velay in Southern France, they have designation of origin status. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.