Stokketjie

By Stokketjie

Dragon repairs

I started the day with a personal best 5km run this morning (thank you Strava for that information).

I then went to visit Dragon again and after a long discussion with the surveyor came to the conclusion to sandblast the hull (which isn’t done with sand coincidently), fill the pitting with epoxy and give it a number of coats of epoxymastic. The sacrificial anodes will also need replacing and welding on so they are easy to replace in the future. This means hopefully the hull will be good for the next 10-20 years (they guarantee 25 years). Although financially a higher outlay than planned, it will hopefully save in the long run and the community at the boatyard told me multiple times that you cannot swap anything for the amazing view you wake up to every morning :) I can already see myself sitting on the front deck sipping my morning coffee or tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.