Not every day

By ppatrick

The Reunion

This is a very belated Blip entry. It's actually from the day preceding this one, and explains why I was in Oxford. It was taken 51 years (almost to the day) after the five of us first met as fresh-faced undergraduates at Balliol College. We've stayed in touch to varying degrees since we graduated. In October 2018 I suggested a half-century reunion, but at the last minute had to cry off because floods in South Wales prevented my travel. I'm glad that we managed to make it happen a year later, because at the time of writing (May 2020) it's hard to see when such things will be possible again. It was a delightful evening of reminiscence and catching up. My companions all have played parts of distinction in their respective fields (from my left, history, music, civil service and Oriental carpets) and been loved and loving in their private lives. Good men and good old friends, every one.

The title: I enjoyed listening to The Reunion on Radio 4 last week, with Sandie Shaw, Petula Clark, Helen Shapiro, Jackie Trent and Vicki Wickham remembering what it was like to be a woman in 60s pop music and how it's changed since (a repeat from 2012). Five women, to counterbalance these five old men.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.