Silly Saturday ....

... "This is your captain speaking ... your flight has been canceled."

At the time I was taking the silly chipmunk picture with this little plane prop we should have been on a plane traveling to Las Vegas. But sadly our trip was canceled due to you know what.  It started with the closure of the resort we booked ... we got notice of this first.  Then the airline kept changing our flights ... which led to the flights being canceled.  I can't tell you how disappointed we both are for this cancellation ... it was something we were both looking forward to as the holiday included a blipmeet with someone very special to us who lives in Utah.  Maybe next year will be better and we can reschedule everything then.

To lift our spirits we went to Jacobsburg State Park after lunch.  The weather was beautiful so you can imagine the park was very crowded. We stopped at the frog pond first ... where we saw a very disturbing sight.  There was a mother and her son with a large fishing net.  They were scooping up the frogs with the net and putting them in a bucket! Richard said to her, "You're not taking those home, are you?" To which she replied, "Of course not, we are just having some fun."  And then I said, "It's not fun for the frogs though!"  What nerve people have to be doing this on State Park property!

We left the frog pond section soon after that ... but not before I saw my first hummingbird of the year!  It was a very quick sighting but I'm 100% sure it was a hummingbird!  YAY!

The hummingbird wasn't my only first sighting of the year.  Included in my collage is a beautiful male Rose-breasted Grosbeak at our feeder. I saw him this morning when I was photographing the chipmunk.  Isn't he gorgeous!?! We don't see them very often but it's nice when we do.  He probably won't stay around .... he's most likely just traveling through. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.