pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Feathers

As anyone who has ever had any kind of intercourse with me will tell you, I'm not very good with my hands.

With this in mind, when my children ask me to join them in some clay work, my mind is instantly filled with dread. The idea of what to create becomes lost in translation between head and hands resulting in some hideous abomination which looks like its been melted before entering the kiln (oven).

"Daddy, stop crying! It's a great bird."
"IT'S A FROG! YOU KNOW IT'S A FROG! LOOK AT THE LEGS! STOP MOCKING ME!"

Fortunately, my eldest is brilliant and acknowledging that all artists steal, she creates things based on a pictoral reference, which is something that I can get on board with. My last creation (Gromit) was at least recognisable as such and so sticking with the Aardman theme, I tried my hand at Feathers McGraw.

I am disproportionately pleased with my efforts, spending the remainder of the day seeking acknowledgement, kudos and treats for my efforts from the children and now from you, gentle reader.

Yes, I know I need to get out more. We ALL need to get out more!

Stay healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.