Azalea

Well the day started well. I was up early to place an order of baby clothes from Next before they closed todays shop and succeeded.  It was hard work trawling the shops online the previous day, liking stuff and then finding they were out of stock.  Then the task of getting the right size but all sorted now.  

I had decided to make it a sourdough day and started to make double quantity as the last ones had turned out so well.  Unfortunately this time everything went wrong.  The dough was far too wet but I persisted thinking it may thicken a bit with time.  I am sure I didn't put too much water in as the jug was only a small one.  Anyway several hours later when I came to turn it out of the bowl it ran across the surface more like a pizza.  Realising this just wouldn't work I slowly added more and more flour to get the dough stiffer not what you should do having got so far in the process.  At this point I had two bags of white flour out and noticed that the one I had used last time was labelled strong white whereas the one I was using was labelled white.  I'm now thinking I may have been given the wrong flour when collecting it from the mill.  The flour is just put into brown paper bags with the flour type written in pen on the side, so maybe its just ordinary plain white flour.  So I continued with the loaves as they were a little stiffer now and then was interrupted as I had just shaped them. When I came back instead of turning the shaped surface upside down I then pulled out the corners as the next stage.  Realising my mistake too late I reshaped them and quickly put them into the containers.  It will be interesting to see how they turn out.  I did so many things incorrectly the only correct stage was adding the salt and the wholemeal flour.

Otherwise its been a grey misty day and I didn't go outside other than to the garden for this blip of the azaleas that are in full bloom now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.