stuartjross

By stuartjross

Neck and Neck

There was a lot of swearing today. My carefully planned work procedure all went out the window when I simply could not get the B anQ sourced boards to snap together the way that is suggested in the instructions. A call to a very nice guy at B and Q did not offer a solution either.

In such situations I am always the first one to think that I am doing something so obviously wrong as to be hilariously funny to a bystander. Perhaps wildly flailing a strimmer like a scythe because it wasn't understood that there was a little petrol engine inside which offered assistance. (I haven't ever done that but it was the first example that came to mind.)

Accepting defeat I gave C a call. C is J's husband (C and J have Bob who is Caley's litter brother). C is a builder who is vastly experienced in such things and he came in past on his way back from his own work.

He went about things in the manner that a tradesmen does, quickly becoming acquainted with the materials I had to work with.

"Just offer this up here like this then take the next bit and push it.. just push.. just push... just...*****, bloody hell I see what you mean Stuart"

It was only with the benefit of C's experience I was able to conclude that I wasn't being dense after all. As you would imagine he did have a work around which I wouldn't have the confidence to set about off my own back; a tiny bit of surgery to one board end with a Stanley knife made a mission impossible in to a nice easy click securely home.

He did suggest that other similar batches will end up back on the shop doorstep.

I have achieved very little today but will kick off with renewed enthusiasm knowing that I will get a few acres down in the morning.

First thing J joined us with Bob and we went up Maol Ruadh a wee bit. When the two yellow guys get together they cover miles racing one another over the rough hillside.

I was thinking of some funny punch line about a photo finish but this would imply an end to this particular race. In reality it is just a snapshot during a 30 minute gallop. These photos are great fun to try and take but the lens always gets splashed and there is also the chance of being bowled over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.