... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

NHM: Kaleidoscopic Façade

Better in large ("L").

Well, "this escalated quickly".
I went out for lunch with friends / colleagues today, and took some pictures of the main entrance on my way back into the museum; the light was surprisingly good (for an overcast day...) but the sky was totally white and featureless so I cropped it out. That left a rather too slender-seeming picture. I then rotated it 90° clockwise, which was interesting, but it was even more interesting when I rotated the original 90° anticlockwise! I think it is because the lighting made it look like I was arching my back and looking at the arches over my own head; it didn't seem to make sense visually, and suddenly became all about the shapes and forms... I was surprised.
That piqued my curiosity, and I then spent quite a while rotating and tiling the image in Photoshop; there are two final images with which I'm quite pleased. This one is just a self-indulgent explosion of symmetry, and the other one (uploaded to Blipfolio here) is a more "trippy-looking" rotated version (the right-hand side of which would be the original image that sparked the whole game in the first place).
What do you reckon?

p.s. I copied my photograph into a new (larger) blank image in Photoshop, so there is no EXIF data. Details:
Nikon D200 : f/4 : 1/60" : 18.0mm : ISO 250

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.