About to turn

By jMcLean

Rugosa

There is a giant rugosa rose bush thriving at the side of our veggie garden. I didn't get around to pruning it earlier this year.

Today daughter I. had an actual in-person (albeit it six-feet apart) meet-up with two other members of her strings quartet. The four of them are all high school juniors and formed the quartet to play at a teacher's wedding. The wedding has been postponed, so who knows if that gig will happen, but they're hoping to be able to play at other events in the future. This was the first time I. had seen friends in person, or been anywhere away from home apart from a couple practice drives, for nearly two months. When I picked her up at Katie's house, the three girls were sitting in a big triangle on the garage floor. They'd done a bit of rehearsing, but mostly just sat and talked quietly. I. said they're all feeling the same these days - dispirited and disappointed at what they're missing, but glad they got together. The fourth member of their group was to have joined by Zoom, but it didn't work out.

I spent most of the day outdoors in the garden. Even after dinner - naan bread pizza - my daughter and I wanted to go back outside. I planted daisy seeds by the light of my phone flashlight and she daydreamed on the swings.

Hope the week ahead is good to you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.