Deep Conversation

One Street: Market Square, Shipley #13

After all the travelling of the last few days it actually felt good to be stuck in the office today and being fairly productive. An early start and a late finish has meant the first blip in a while from Market Square. I rather enjoyed my wander around with the camera at lunchtime. I felt more confident that I have done of late, perhaps as a result of giving quite a bit of thought to street photography in general and feeling I understand better my position in respect to it.

I do believe that I'm taking these photographs out of genuine respect for the people I capture and with an interest in recording the real life of this place. I've been questioned in a comment on one of my street shots as to the point of it all. It wasn't that easy to respond except to say that I find street photography compelling. People are fascinating, especially when they are observed candidly, unposed, being themselves as opposed to presenting a persona for the camera. These are ordinary people but they are each at the same time really quite extraordinary. This is what I like to think I'm celebrating.

Thanks for the great reception to the treatment of yesterday's blip from Belfast. It just looked so much better given a bit of an antique finish. To answer your main question, no I wasn't able to enjoy a drink there. The photo was taken en route to meet with my clients and running late as usual. I think I need to return some day. I never got a chance to look inside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.