fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

The lonely traveller

So, having gained some confidence that I actually I understand the whole aperture priority/depth of field thing - even if I've yet to master it - I thought I'd have a go today with my 'daily' camera.

I was on my way from Cumbria to Heathrow. The journey had not gone well. Firstly, Coach E, the carriage that used to be unreserved on Virgin Trains, was full of reservations, so I spent the first hour of my journey playing musical chairs until I found a reserved seat with no occupant.

Then, in an uncharacteristic fit of financial prudence, I decided to take the tube to Heathrow rather than the Heathrow Express. This doubled my journey time, even if it only made it approximately one and a half times less pleasant, mainly due to the fact I was on a crammed Underground train instead of the sparsely populated HX.

Anyway, I ended up at the bus station on Heathrow airport, kicking my heels and in dire need of distraction, as I was hungry and, therefore, grumpy. So I got my camera out.

I think @oldtownpaul is right and I'm never going to get great depth of field with my daily camera although I did rather like this shot of my laptop case on the bench. It was only later that I realised why I found this picture so striking...

I struggled to find a seat on the train this morning and then wedged myself in on the tube. I had to slalom my way off the platform to the escalator on my way up to the bus stop. And yet, looking at this photo, it's as if Heathrow was deserted today and I was the only person waiting for a bus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.