Looking for the beauty

By looking4beauty

Day 44 999

A normal Sunday spent cooking Sunday lunch and pottering around the house. I made the effort and even made a cauliflower cheese to accompany the beef and it was definitely one of my better dinners. (A big improvement on last week's chicken fiasco anyway! Chris and Dan were fine after eating the funny coloured chicken. )
In the afternoon Chris and I headed into town as I wanted to get some deserted town shots while we're still in lockdown. It was eerily quiet and we only saw a few other people. We were surprised to see Tesco's Local and the Little Waitrose open as it was nearly 6. We then took some photos of the library where Charles Darwin went to school as a child and went back down to the river. The river was really calm and the light was lovely so the reflections were perfect. This is the English bridge but I've put a couple of others in extras. We headed home and spotted Dan on the way back.
As I was reading my Kindle in bed, Chris suddenly woke up and asked how he'd got into bed. He got really agitated and upset as he couldn't remember what the day or month were or anything that had happened in the previous hour. I thought he was messing around to begin with but as time went on I thought he'd had a stroke or some kind of seizure so I called 999.
When the paramedics arrived in masks, gloves and aprons, they examined him and agreed that he needed checking in hospital. He kept asking what day it was and couldn't remember facts about the family. They checked him for a stroke but he didn't have any symptoms. He went to hospital just before 1 in the morning and I lay awake waiting for them to phone me as I wasn't allowed in with him. I tried ringing after a couple of hours and was asked to fetch him at about 3.45. When he got home he was more like himself but still had a gap of about 4 hours that he cannot remember. He remembers watching the television and then sitting in the bay in A&E. He can't remember the paramedics talking to him in the house or going in the ambulance. The hospital said he'd had some kind of amnesia but all the tests and scans were clear. It certainly makes you appreciate your health and your loved ones. I lay in bed imagining all the worse case scenarios but thankfully he's ok. Let's hope this doesn't happen again and was just a one off strange episode.
In the news, deaths were down to 315.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.