Tiny Tuesday : : Pincushion

It was not a good start to the day to learn that our neighbor, suffering from acute memory issues and unsteadiness on his feet is in Intensive Care after a craniotomy. The text from his wife was sent last night, but for once, I was glad we went to bed early and I didn't get it until this morning. Better yet, he is doing well, is back to his 'old self' and hoping to be home by the weekend....

Noticing that I was feeling less than perky, John suggested that, now that nurseries have been made 'legal', we go to the one in Sebastopol and to the farm supply store which has the irrigation thingies he needs. It's a lovely day today and after my Zoom 'sculpt and tone' class, we set off. The nursery wasn't crowded and everybody had a mask, but I still had an insane urge to bolt back to the safety of the car after a very short time. I didn't even get out of the car at the farm supply, but, feeling a bit like an invalid, I did enjoy getting out. I  washed my hands 5 times after we got home. Will we all become antisocial weirdos if/when this is all over?

I spent the afternoon in solitary concentration as I put together a few more squares on my 'Covid Quilt'. * The pincushion caught my eye as I took pins out and put them back over and over. I couldn't find a good wall to hang it on, so I just laid the finished squares out on the guest bed. I decided I'd just make each square as the spirit moved me, without worrying much about how well the squares related to each other. I can still rearrange them, but interestingly, I don't think I will be doing much of that. I had lots of navy blue from the tee shirt quilts I made for the boys when they graduated from high school. Not quite the same navy and not quite enough of either for the whole thing, but it still seems to work. A twenty year supply of scraps and pieces somehow have their own way of relating to each other....

*extra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.