Flexible Space

Thank you all for your lovely comments, stars and hearts for the covid quilt. It has turned out to be quite a lifesaver for me, keeps me reasonably happily inside, and allows me to feel like I am accomplishing something. I really have no Idea what I'm going to do with it when it is finished, but I'm beginning to have an idea....

Between working on the quilt, and working out, I am spending quite a lot of time in this room,  so it seemed appropriate to take a look at it through the camera's eye. 
It is the biggest bedroom in the house, but is also the only room without French doors going outside so it seemed reasonable to make it a shared office. 

I wasn't sure how that was going to work since we each had our own space, repurposed from kids' bedrooms to office/craft rooms in our old house. John shared his office with Ozzie and when he retired and had his own business, he put a sign on the door that said Arndt and Associates. 

My office/craft room was upstairs and had once been Matt's bedroom. Our friend Chris and I worked together to design the furniture. My picture today is the result...modular pieces that have great flexibility in how they can be put together. Even back in 1990 when Matt left for college, we were talking about moving. The 'boxes' all come apart and can be reconfigured in many different ways, and the desktop with its two drawers rests on top of a file cabinet and another set of boxes.

There is actually another, wider desk top resting on drawer units on the other side of the room which has become John's desk. A third IKEA unit wraps around the corner and connects with another desk which can be used by either of us for whatever project is consuming us at the moment. Right now, it is littered with bits of fabric, boxes of fabric roughly sorted into colors, scissors, rotary cutters, rulers, etc. In other words, it's a disaster. John had to move his seed sorting project to the dining table....

Since the furniture is lined up around the walls, there's enough space on the floor for two yoga mats and the two of us on them. This is about the only time the two of us are actually in the room at the same time, so it has worked out quite well despite early doubts about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.