settling in . . .

We are settling in . . . inside and out. It helps that my two sons, Decklin & Dallas and their spouses are arriving from Boston on Saturday for a short visit! It got me motivated to hang more art up and get curtains for the windows. Truth be told our last house was very small and I never put curtains up because I did not want to block any of the light! : )

I really wanted to hang curtains here and finally got it done. My friend and garden designer Ann Hall (who now blips!) helped me so much by picking up some tie-back hardware she had seen the day before. Hallelujah! They were perfect and gave me the look I wanted.

The art on the right side of the window is by my great uncle William Glackens. He was an Illustrator and an American Impressionist who is considered to be one of the most influential artists in the history of American Art. I am named after his daughter Lenna Glackens, who the painting located top right is of! The painting to the right of that one was done by Steven's father of one of the barns on their property on Wolfe Island, Ontario, Canada.

The art on the top left side is a collage of mine I did a few years ago. I still love it! Underneath it is a print of a very large painting my great uncle did called "Family Group" that is now held at the National Art Gallery. All very special to me.

"The artist is a receptacle for the emotions that come from all over the place: from the sky, from the earth, from a scrap of paper, from a passing shape, from a spider's web."

~ Pablo Picasso

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.