Lower Cascades

Please see LARGE.

A few days back I shot a Katoomba waterfall which is about 30 metres higher than this one. Next time I do this location I am going to move down the escarpment still further and shoot the main Katoomba Falls plunge but that's next time.

I am shooting waterfalls a lot at the moment because the mountain streams have more water in them now than they have had for some months. Also I am continuing my experiments with the variable ND filter which is allowing me much longer exposures of these places than I have been able to manage before.

Today I used it with my nice, light Nikon D3100. Boy what a difference. With the G12 (in spite of its alleged concessions to serious photography) I am constantly having to wrestle with the camera to overcome its inherent desire to "be smart" in some cock eyed way. I don't want the CAMERA to be smart. I just want it to let ME be smart. The variable ND with the DSLR was a breeze. Just so straightforward and easy. I could concentrate on the picture. Horses for courses I guess.

Even after all my years with cameras I occasionally find some new gadget, the practical use of which I know almost nothing about. You just have to be patient and open minded I suppose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.