Journeyman

By AFoolOnTheHill

On The Road Again

After yesterday's celebratory blip, me and my iPod are back on the road again literally. One of the good things about being in the middle of nowhere is that you can sing when there's nobody around. I picked the wrong "album of the day" to exercise my vocal chords.

Following the death of Florian Schneider I thought it only appropriate that my album of the day was "Autobahn" by Kraftwerk from 1974. This is their fourth album and is widely considered to be the true beginning of the band, with the title track inspired by the long road journeys on the German motorway system. I saw them live in September 1975 and have plenty of memories from the time, but will save until my September blip "on this day" section.

On this day in 1976 I saw ex-Yes and Strawbs keyboard wizard Rick Wakemen and The English Rock Ensemble, I have vague memories of King Arthur and the Round Table. I can confirm the tour T-Shirt was the worse I have owned in living memory.

On this day in 1977 I saw The Shadows, the ticket price was £3 and if you paid for a ticket "you wuz robbed".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.