How obliging of the postman to park there, Dad always said photos need a bit of red in them.

I started early before it got too hot, and then carried on even when it was too hot, but I'm pleased with what I got done. A metre wide strip of turf was removed in front of the (broken) wall, the soil dug over - with great difficulty as it was dry and rock solid - and more plants put in. I've  just got to finish off shaping the lawn. A bit of the turf was used to fill the gap left after I'd removed a very old lavender plant, and I've got quite a few strips waiting in the garage for lawn repairs in the back. But that's for tomorrow afternoon, so they're in a cardboard box having had a good soak... which is what I've just had, my first bath in this house.

There are so many more birds around here than at the old house, due to more trees and bigger gardens I suppose, and I've got starlings nesting in the eaves, and yesterday it was a real treat to see a buzzard (I think) from my settee, circling over the nearest fields. There's a lot to be thankful for, but I still miss face to face people. Let's see what BJ tells us on Sunday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.