Two New Moths

Had to give the moths equal status as my blip today, as I've never seen either of these before. The Yellow Spotted Moth (Pseudopanthera macularia) I saw first, so it gets thumbnail honours. The white one is a female Muslin Moth (Diaphora mendica). Again, I have my brother to thank for identifying them for me.

The yellow one I'd taken to be a butterfly, though slightly smaller than a Holly Blue, but both are day-flying moths. The poor Muslin Moth was fluttering around on the ground and we couldn't work out why. However, when I got home and looked at my photos, and a 10 second video, I'm pretty sure I could detect something attached to its underside, in wasps' colouring. So I fear it was under attack. Sigh. "All things bright and beautiful", eh?!

First thing this morning, it was quite chilly, but it's been beautifully sunny and warmer as the day progressed. Think I'm going to be wielding the watering can on the garden again for the forseeable ...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.