I'm interested that not only do I want a tangible sign of achievement each day but also that I, who have spent most my photographic life much more interested in abstract or geometric images, am making a representational record. Maybe it's a need to have an archive of this time of transition.

I have wanted my own sash clamps for years and bought two a fortnight ago so that I could repair the very rickety garden chairs. These clamps are nothing like as robust (nor as heavy) as the steel clamps I used to use when I was learning woodwork, but they do the job. This is chair two. The first, which I re-glued yesterday, can now be sat on though I still want to tighten one of the joints. It's a fiddly job, lining up the two pairs of joints I'm re-glueing as well as the steel dowels for the seat and the folding legs, all before the glue goes off. But it's very satisfying knowing that I'm adding a few more years of life to these.

(No, I'm not glueing on my part-sanded desk - this is just a plinth for the photograph.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.