The Cows are in the Meadow....

.....NOT eating the buttercups! This is one of the eight cows in the field at the bottom of the garden with the whole field to themselves.  The farmer, who we know well, is a bit of a softy and, although there is a commercial venture here, he knows his cows well (over many years) and looks after them.  One of these old girls is eighteen and had a calf every year - until this year.  This group of oldies has not been allowed with the bull and will not have any more calves - they are here to fatten up over the summer and...I don't like to think about it.

For now though, they are well fed, looked after and very content.  The field is full of lush grass and a vast number of buttercups. Cows do not eat buttercups - these will be left standing after every blade of grass has disappeared.

I have not created any dandelion images today.  Yesterday I said I would not do any more this year but there are still so many wonderful dandelion heads around that I can't say for sure that tomorrow I just might pick a few!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.