The Pitts

The Pitt Building in central Cambridge, headquarters of Cambridge University Press and one of those countless imposing edifices that form the mish-mash of colleges in the city. It must take decades to understand what belongs to which college and to dig into the history of key places.

Tonight on a relatively late walk (clapping had been and gone) two fellas were illuminating the building in honour of the NHS. They apparently do it in two locations each week. One of them said that whilst he’s not working much, ‘it’s a bit of fun innit’. That it is my friend.

A work friend organised an online drink at the end of the day (which ended up being more of an interlude as I had to continue until 8). Wine in hand, my colleague Rob showed me the James Bond boxset he’s ordered for his upcoming 40th, likely to be spent in a form of lockdown. He said it symbolised a certain entry into middle age.

The government has announced it will be making an announcement about lockdown at the end of the weekend. I think they’re legally obliged to communicate something today as a three-week period is up, but otherwise this simply sows confusion and risks people losing patience with the lockdown. Before happening on the illuminated Pitt Building, my walk took me to Coe Fen, as usual. I sat on a bench which was an error as the bullock herd descended and one was particularly inquisitive and dribbly, as my coat will testify. Bovids are more forceful than cats when they nudge humans, yet I believe their motives are less manipulative. I had to move benches because it’s not as if I’ve got a range of clothing to change into when one set gets covered in bullock saliva. Perhaps the bullock was a minion of the government, reminding me that solo bench-sitting is not the done thing until Monday morning when I hope it will become socially acceptable once again.

Announcing that an announcement is due to be made seems illogical and pointless, yet this government should never pass up the opportunity to be either of those things. Although these are fairly mild adjectives for how I feel about our ruling party.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.