Life. Through my lens.

By CMOS

Upgrade.

Today it was time to upgrade the RAM in our notebooks. It did not go exactly to plan since I didn't really anticipate that the Macbook couldn't decide for itself what speed it should run the memory bus at. Nor can you tell it what speed to run the memory bus at. Instead it reads the speed from the new RAM EEPROM and tries to match it which fails when the bus normally runs @ 1066Mhz and the new RAM is 1600Mhz. So that means I have to run one old stick and one new stick until I can get my hands on a stick of 1066Mhz with the new size. That will force the Mac to run the bus at 1066Mhz and the new stick will have to play ball. No huge drama as I now have a 50% increase in RAM already from todays efforts and it really shows while using photo editing software. Much snappier now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.