BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 47

Imprisonment - Day forty seven
Thursday 7th May 2020

Cycling Statistics
Cars - 35
Motorbikes - 1
Bikes - 1
Dog walkers - 2
Walkers - 1
Runners - 0
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 6.3c

A slightly warmer morning and very busy car wise as I saw 35 vehicles. I think this is the highest number I've seen since the start of our imprisonment however there were fewer people exercising so they must all have taken to the road in their cars. I saw a small sad looking fledgling bird in the lane right in the path of approaching vehicles so turned back to pick it up so I could move it to the verge but as I approached the bundle of feathers flew off into the hedgerow. I continued on my way thinking that I'd save its little life.

Every day I have been meaning to start up my cars as they have not been used for such a long time. B2 since Christmas A1 since early March when Ashley drove me to pick up and Indian takeaway and the A7 since October. All cars started first flick of the switch and I enjoyed driving each and everyone up and down the drive. I must admit I did feel a pang of regret as I can't drive my babies as they're all been SORN'd as we can't go anywhere.

With the cars run and put back to bed I continued spraying the Bentley. The new paint is definitely a perfect match. As I sprayed the remaining half of the bonnet in the old paint and the associated wing in the new paint and there was not hap'orth of difference. After spraying the bonnet and the wing the whole car had had its first top coat. I then applied what I thought would be the final topcoat to the other side of the bonnet but I was not happy with the finish as it was a little orange peeley and the paint had run from the rivets so tomorrow I will flat it back and try again. I've got ample paint so I will carry on until I get it right. Believe it or not I think it may have been too hot. Later on I looked at YouTube and found the Gun Man who has made video videos of spraying and covered 'how to stop orange peel finishes' and 'how to spray clearcoat'. His videos have given me a couple of things to try tomorrow.

Early evening Ashley whatsapp'd us. He is getting on well in his new roll at work and hosted an 85 participant video conference with his team. Over the coming Bank Holiday weekend he will be in isolation bike riding running and walking with possibly a social distancing drink with Jonathan on the terrace of Jonathan's apartment. Jonathan was ill with what was thought to be the virus in March.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.