One Day

"VE DAY
War with Germany is over. Had speech by C.O. at 2.30, then heard W. Churchill, then thanksgiving service. Sing song. King’s Speech. Bonfire and then dance."

My mother was in the WAAF, stationed in Norfolk and for the year 1945 she kept a diary. This was her entry for 8 May. 

However, she did not know then that, although the war with Germany was over, the Japanese were not to surrender for several months, and her husband of three weeks (my father) was still in South East Asia and it was to be a long time before she saw him again. When she completed the final entry of her diary at the end of the year she was living at my grandparents’ house, a long way from her own family, and she was still waiting for her husband to be brought home. 

The end is not always quite the end - not for anyone. 

My father was in the RAF Transport Command and was part of the South East Asia Command . He was in India and Singapore and probably other places. I have lots of photos, but I know very little about what he did. I think I need to find someone to help with this. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.