VE DAY - 75 YEARS

Day 56 of my own personal lockdown.

Quiet day today.   Have been watching some of the commemorations for VE Day on BBC.  We observed the 2 minute silence at 11.00 am and then at 3.00 pm we went out to our front garden to raise a toast VE Day 75 years ago.  This was the designated time on the BBC schedule to have a front door toast (our front door is on the side so we went in front of our kitchen window.  G is on the left and Hubby on the right, as you can see they (especially Hubby) got dressed up for the occasion (NOT, especially not hubby as that is not his thing!!!!!  I had no union flags or anything in the house so I printed off a few things I found on the net and stuck them on the kitchen window.

Mum, bless her, found quite a few flags so she "planted" them in her front garden and by the side of the front door (also on the side).  My youngest brother went round to drop off her shopping for he and took the photo you can see in the extras.  She's looking good, especially her hair as it hasn't been cut for 6 weeks!!!

Such a beautiful day, it's such a shame that all the plans for today (like every other day at the moment) had to be cancelled, however so many people or doing a grand job.  I especially loved that street in Chester that was shown on BBC Breakfast - what a great job they did.

I was getting excited about the delivery of my new camera today, but on tracking it it seems to be stuck in the depot - then I realised today is actually a Bank Holiday as they transferred to a Friday to coincide with VE Day *sigh*, silly me.  Will just have to be patient and wait until tomorrow, I hope, may even be Monday now!!!!??

I will start commenting on your blips again tomorrow, I'm sorry for the sparseness of them this week.

I hope all you UK blippers out there managed to commemorate today in some small way.

Take care, stay safe and "We'll Meet Again" for sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.