Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Spot JR! (Day 53)

More of the same old, same old...

Sitting out in the sun am, visit from a (socially distanced) neighbour, breakfast, bike.

Archie walk pm - round to Bruntsfield to check out what’s open - a few cafes, but we didn’t stop. JR and Archie walked further round the Links, but I was rather slow and feeble today, so came home and revived only after a lie down, an Almond Magnum and a coffee with a toasted muffin.

I’ve been listening to my book. This chapter was about the Japanese Unit 731, which during WW2 carried out inhumane tests and experiments on prisoners. The Japanese involved were not put on trial after the war, unlike their German counterparts, because they had arranged immunity with the USA in return for their gruesome findings.

VE Day - 75 years ago. Although of course, the war wasn’t over for many - my father included - who were in ‘The Forgotten Army’ in Burma. I see that the wonderful Captain Tom Moore was in Burma - I shall watch his programme tonight.

I can’t do Links on my iPad any more, otherwise I would have linked to more info about Unit 731.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.